top of page

Why is it so hard to find the right font!

As part of my final project, I needed to create some labels. I honestly thought this would be a quick job, but no. I spent ages thinking about what I'd want my brand logo to be, and what I'd call it, In the past I've just called everything British_bex, which I guess was cool when I wasn't living in the U.K. In the end, I just chose my name. because the whole point of this was to show who I am as a designer.

The logo design was hard, I wanted it to reflect something personal to me. I came down to 2 ideas, a print based on my old house, my favourite place, and my favourite flower the "Bird of Paradise".


I decided on the bird of paradise because it reflected more of my future and my love for bright colours as oppose to a place from my past. from here the process of designing and redesigning begun,

I spent far to much time over doing an initial illustration in photoshop and hated it. I sort of hit a dead end here because I couldn't see past the fun filters and crazy effects. I overcomplicated it all.




With the help of two great friends however I managed to turn it around and I'm really happy with the outcome. Its simple, impactful and a bit of me.



The next step was building a QR code, this was placed on the label as a way to reduce the amount of information on the garment itself and also lead customers back to my website. Once the QR code has been scanned, the customer will be taken to the "About this garment" section of the website, here they will be given all care information, as well as see the fabric fibre content, where it was sourced and how it was dyed. As well as this I hope to add short stories describing the inspiration behind the garments to hopefully create more of a connection between customer and garment as I believe this is the best way to ensure garments are kept and cared for longer.





bottom of page