top of page

Third Year Initial Project Proposal

Below is my initial Project proposal for my Final Major Project at University, Its crazy how much has changed since then but I think its still important to look at the initial plan to see how far the collection has come since then. I'm also interested in what hasn't changed, I think this is the best way to really understand my personal design process and what elements I hold highest.


I think Covid 19 really got me thinking about my childhood and the certain level of freedom you have in that time to really explore and not have to worry about paying the bills or where your going to live after University.





"2153" was so personal and I think during this process I was full of nostalgia that often made it hard to separate my memories and experiences from the design process. I do love that I knew where I wanted to take it and what was and still is important to me. Adventure, emotional connection, functionality.



Obviously the time plans I drew up went out the window once we entered our second, and the third lockdown. This has been the most frustrating part of this year, having everything you want to do delayed and the uncertainty of everything, How many outfits will I be able to create? Will we even have a graduation? By march I had planned to have 2 outfits done and be moving onto my third..... Im still on my first now.

But I am still trying to set myself mini goals, and focus on the things I can do, this blog for example. Making a daily to do list is the best for me because breaking down tasks and being able to cross things off is the best feeling.




The risks and implications have mostly remained the same, and for the most part I think I'm dealing with them well. the hardest thing for me so far has been taking proper breaks, its really hard to rest when your work is the same room you eat dinner, watch tv and sleep in its easy to feel guilty when your work is staring back at you.

MY colour palette has changed dramatically since I did this proposal, whilst I loved the natural safari colours, it just wasn't my style. I wanted something more fun and mood lifting that could elevated my designs to capture memories and emotions as well. Something you'd want to wear after during and before your adventure.


I loved the overall layout of this document playing iff the scrapbook/ journal style. Its something I'll try again.


I still don't know what I want to do after this, it scares me a bit honestly. I know an internship is the next best step, and I would love to work with people that share this love for forming emotional connections through clothing, I don't know where this will take me, but I guess thats part of the adventure.





bottom of page