top of page

Fabric Changes

Something I've learnt recently, is just because you love a fabric doesn't mean its right for the design. For the "Tent Dress" I planned to use a beautiful Bamboo Silk which I then dyed with turmeric to have a sunset yellow colour. After the toiles however it became clear it would be too delicate to hold the structure.



I was so stubborn, I wanted to make it work, but with four weeks to complete, the fabric would need to be reinforced so much it was not worth using it. It was suggested I use a rip-stop but that would not take the dye well. I then remembered that most safari tents used canvas-like fabrics. Due to this I decided on a Cotton Drill, It has the strength to hold the structure, it should drape well and takes the turmeric dye well too.





bottom of page